RSS Feed

Job Hopper Need Not Apply!

It has been some time since I have posted under, ADR, however I have not been without words! I have been publishing and writing for a blog I created: Focus MD Blog for adults, children, providers and others affected by ADHD. Through this there were many things I wrote about that would fit well on ADR so I wanted to share them! Here goes:

I was reading a post on how to explain a bad resume on Additude, which got me to thinking about my work as a recruiter, job coach and manager. Those who know me understand I have a no excuse attitude and high expectations. In return for those sometimes difficult to swallow charecteristics I offer help and support for those who are committed to solving problems. I have written a number of different posts on what recruiters look for in resumes and attidudes that will kill you in a job and job search and I have even written about job hopping but not from the persepctive of having ADHD.

There is a reason for that – ADHD is not an excuse, just like a death in your family, taking care of an ill parent, going on maternity leave, being downsized, getting into a car accident, the list can go on forever. These may be some of the reasons a person might be out of work, but they are not what is keeping you from your successful new job.

Most adults with ADHD know what problems or issues they have: can’t pay bills, can’t keep a job, can’t keep a relationship, etc…

What are the reasons for these issues?

What was YOUR role in these issues? What might you have done differently?

Hindsight is 20/20 so use it

Seriously, get out a pen RIGHT NOW and write down why you either don’t have a job or have lost your job in the past.

DO IT

I am actually not going to finish this post because I know you. We’ve met in a former life. You want to go straight to the answer without putting in the effort and I am not letting you go there, yet. Complete the task and I will get back with you soon.

About americandreamrevised

A manager, recruiter, trainer and foodie! When you are asked over and over again for tips on how to find a job, increase your sales, how to create connections or recommendations for restaurants, recipes and creative party fare at some point you have to do something with all of the information. Those who know me and have borrowed “recipes” from me know that I do not write anything down and can barely measure, I do not know how to follow instructions and my strength is not in the detail but in the experience of your senses.

Give us your thoughts - start a conversation:

